Thursday, July 23, 2015

MBOB: Goosebummps



I had to share this one, because, as a kid growing up.  I read my fair share of Goosebumps books.  So this looks like it is an absolute must see!!

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Way Down Dark by JP Smythe

Author: JP Smythe
Genre: Young Adult / Science Fiction / Fantasy
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: 2nd July 2015
ISBN: 9781444796322
Stand Alone/Series: The Australia Trilogy #1
Pages: 288pages
First Lines: The story goes taht Earth was much older than the scientist thought.

Synopsis:  
The first in an extraordinary new YA trilogy by James Smythe, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

There's one truth on Australia: You fight or you die. Usually both.

Seventeen-year-old Chan's ancestors left a dying Earth hundreds of years ago, in search of a new home. They never found one.

The only life that Chan's ever known is one of violence, of fighting. Of trying to survive.

But there might be a way to escape. In order to find it, Chan must head way down into the darkness - a place of buried secrets, long-forgotten lies, and the abandoned bodies of the dead.

Seventeen-year-old Chan, fiercely independent and self-sufficient, keeps her head down and lives quietly, careful not to draw attention to herself amidst the violence and disorder. Until the day she makes an extraordinary discovery - a way to return the Australia to Earth. But doing so would bring her to the attention of the fanatics and the murderers who control life aboard the ship, putting her and everyone she loves in terrible danger.

And a safe return to Earth is by no means certain.

My Thoughts:
Thanks to Hachette Australia for sending this to me.  I must admit that the first few pages in, I struggled.  Not with the writing because it was amazing, but the scene that it painted.  Of a life that you had to fight tooth and nail for survival and there being no escape.  A life where children die for something as simple as getting in the road, or for being in the wrong gang, or for just existing.  So this was hard, being the mother of a six year old, and reading about the struggles that Chan and the people on Australia had to face just to survive.

In saying that, It's been a while since I've picked a book up that has contained so much grit and drama as Way Down Dark had, that I struggled to put it down.  Chan is a strong willed and determined character to do what's right, not just what's selfish and not just 'staying alive'.  Because she believes there to be a better way.  

JP Smythe paints a bleak atmosphere for the occupants of Australia.  On one half of the ship are the lows.  A gang that is violent and cruel doing whatever it takes to claim more of the ship.  They encroach on the free area and this spurs Chan into action, against the warnings from her dying mother and that of her mother's friend Agatha.

The one thing I'm the most happy about is that you find out right at the beginning that this is part of a Trilogy.  In all honesty after reading other books about people in space, I'm not sure what it was about those, but I've never gone for anything that has been space related.  The synopsis on the back of this did suck me in though.  Once I started reading, it's not that you forget that they are on the ship, because it's there in the description but it's so wonderfully done, that it feels real and it feels legit.  So I can't wait to go looking for more of this Author's writing.

Overall I recommend this read to others to try.  Be aware that it is graphic at times, in both it's words, and what it doesn't say, so you have been warned, but in saying that, don't pass up on this.

I look forward to reading what happens next for Chan and the characters of Way Down Dark.

Book received from:  Hachette Children's Book



Sunday, July 19, 2015

In My Mailbox (166)


In My Mailbox is a weekly post created by The Story Siren.

For Review:


N/A

Bought:

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
The Great Library #1
I'm definitely looking forward to reading this one!  Anything Rachel Caine writes is just brilliant!

What did you get in your IMM?

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

MBOB: Need by Joelle Charbonneau

Synopsis:

Teenagers at Wisconsin's Nottawa High School are drawn deeper into a social networking site that promises to grant their every need . . . regardless of the consequences. Soon the site turns sinister, with simple pranks escalating to malicious crimes. The body count rises. In this chilling YA thriller, the author of the best-selling Testing trilogy examines not only the dark side of social media, but the dark side of human nature.





Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (158)


Waiting On Wednesday was created by Jill over at Breaking The Spine. It's a weekly post for you to share what upcoming books you can't wait for!


I'm looking forward to reading The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes which will be out July 7th.

Synopsis
This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather's ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess's classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

What are you waiting on?

Sunday, June 28, 2015

In My Mailbox (165)


In My Mailbox is a weekly post created by The Story Siren.

For Review:


Way Down Dark by JP Smythe

Thanks to Hachette Australia for this review book.


Bought:

Day Boy by Trent Jamieson
-I have read this and highly recommend giving it a go!!

What did you get in your IMM?

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Day Boy Book Launch

Hi all!

Just wanted to let you all know that Isobelle Carmody will be launching Trent Jamieson's new book Day Boy!  Don't miss out!

You can find more information here:  Avid Reader!  I'll certainly be going!

Just to let you all know, parking is limited so if you can get someone to drop you in, you will be thankful for it!!

See you there :)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...