Monday, April 24, 2017

Book Trailer Agent Nomad: The Elevent Hour

*This post may contain affiliate links

Agent Nomad #1: The Eleventh HourSynopsis:
Spies. Secrets. Sorcery.

Natalie Palladino was a normal fifteen-year-old, at a normal school, about to face a normal maths test.

Now her codename is Nomad, and she’s training to become a secret agent for HELIX.

No one can know that sorcery exists. No one can know that HELIX protects humanity from the Inductors.

And no one can know that Nomad is a Witness, with a dangerous magical gift. The Inductors are hunting her. If they find her, they will kill her.

But there’s a traitor inside HELIX, and only a Witness can identify them. The problem is, Nomad hasn’t mastered her powers. She can’t levitate, fight or wield magic like her fellow recruits.

If she’s the only hope to stop a sorcerous bomb being detonated, the world is in trouble.

The eleventh hour is coming . . .

This does certainly look like the beginnings of an interesting series.  I'm looking forward to picking this book up!


The Trailer-

Monday, April 10, 2017

Book Revew: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

*This post may contain affiliate links
The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1)Title: The Murder Complex
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: 10th June 2014
ISBN:
9780062220011
Stand Alone/Series:
First book in the Murder Complex series
Pages:
398 pages
First Lines:
It is the key to survival, the key to life.  My father's old dagger.


Synopsis:  
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

My Thoughts:
I stumbled across Lindsay Cummings' Instagram some time ago and have been following her pics and promotion but hadn't had the chance to pick up any of her books. It was after watching one of her Youtube videos on help for writers that I realized I hadn't read anything of hers so I picked up The Murder Complex.

I had read the first paragraph in the synopsis and it had won me over to reading this so I purchased a kindle version and off I went. As you can tell it was a bit of a surprise when Meadow and Zephyr meet because I had no idea he was a programmed assassin as the synopsis had stated so it was a a big surprise. Because I was thinking this is great they'll get together... :)

I liked the world that Lindsay has created: The Shallows. Don't get me wrong, it's not a place I'd personally live in but it came alive and felt real and believable. The only thing I did think of was that the perimeter reminded me of many other dystopians that had walls keeping them in. The story needed it, but I guess I hate to say it but felt it was bordering on cliche.

The characters were an interesting mix. Meadow, a girl who would do anything to keep her family safe, including kill. Trained in combat and always on her guard, Meadow quickly became my favourite when I was reading her chapters.

Zephyr is a bit of a complicated one. He's a ward of the government and lives with all the other orphans on the reserve, and up until a certain point, I'd believed him to be fairly innocent in the story. It's not what you think though and I did really like Zephyr as a character in the book also.

Talan, Zephyrs friend and fellow ward was another one I felt I needed to mention. She's mouthy and rebellious and a great addition to TMC cast.

If you are looking for a gripping read that is a bit gory I suggest giving this one a try. I'm already itching to read the sequel to this so that's saying something.

Hope you all enjoy!


Fave Lines: 
Sometimes we have to give up little pieces of our humanity so that we can keep living.
(There are too many favourite lines to list here!)
Book received from: 
Purchased (Kindle)
Authors Website:  Lindsay Cummings






Monday, April 3, 2017

Tv Shows Based on Books: Thirteen Reasons Why

*This post may contain Afilliate links
Thirteen Reasons Why
Synopsis:
The #1 New York Times bestseller and modern classic that's been changing lives for a decade gets a gorgeous revamped cover and special additional content.

You can't stop the future.
You can't rewind the past.
The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker--his classmate and crush--who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah's voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah's pain, and as he follows Hannah's recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever.


Quickie Review: 
I haven't read the book, but this weekend I binge-watched all 13 episodes of Thirteen Reasons Why.  It showed up on Netflix (Australia) on the 31st of March and by the preview on there I was itching to see whether it lived up to the hype of the trailer.  And yes, yes it did!
I feel guilty for not reading the book, and I hope those of you that have, will enjoy the tv show as much as the book.
It was intense, amazing, and downright cruel the things that Hannah Baker had endured.  You will be bracing for the worst that is yet to come, because you know what is coming, and it's hard to watch someone go through these things and not feel the need to yell at the tv and tell the other characters to stop it!
Thirteen Reasons Why is dramatic take on what pushes a person to commit suicide.  It shows the dark side of High school and how separate incidents can drive a person to choosing such a final end to their story.
I loved all the characters in their own way.  It's not unusual to like the main character the most, but my second favourite apart from Clay was Tony.  He kept Clay in check throughout the tapes and kept him going when he tried to quit.

There are adult themes so keep that in mind when watching.  Towards the end it gets harder to watch so brace yourself for those parts, but definitely worth the time.  I'm guilty of watching this all in just two sittings, it was that good.  I was hooked.

Hope you all enjoy this and take away a bit of insight as well.
Bullying can come in many forms and when it happens, don't be a bystander!  





Monday, March 27, 2017

Book Trailer: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

*This post may contain affiliate links
Wink Poppy Midnight
Synopsis
Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

Add to your Goodreads // Buy at Book Depository

I can't help it.  I just love the cover of this one.  It's so pretty. Enjoy!!


Monday, March 13, 2017

Book Review: Honeymoon by James Patterson

This post may contain affiliate links

Honeymoon (Honeymoon, #1)Title: Honeymoon
Author: James Patterson and Howard Rougan
Genre: Mystery / Fiction / Thriller / Suspense
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publication Date: 1st January 2007
ISBN: 9780755387151
Stand Alone/Series: Honeymoon #1
Pages:  393 pages
First Lines: Things aren't always as they appear.  One minute, I'm totally fine.

Synopsis:  
Don't give away the ending ... don't give away the beginning.

How does it feel to be desired by every man and envied by every woman? Wonderful. This is the life Nora Sinclair has dreamed about, the life she's worked hard for, the life she will never give up.

She doesn't just attract men, she enthralls them. So why is FBI agent John O'Hara interested in Nora Sinclair? Mysterious things happen to people around her, especially the men. And there is something dangerous about Nora, something that lures O'Hara at the same time that it fills him with fear.

Is something dark hidden in the gaps of her past? As O'Hara spends more and more time getting to know her, is he pursuing justice? Or his own fatal obsession?

My Thoughts: 
If it weren't for the fact I was doing James Patterson's Masterclass I probably would never have picked this book up.  I'd heard mixed reviews on the author and his very quick turnaround times for books so I didn't really have any interest.  But since one of the things that would help with the course was to read this, I gave it a go.  If you are interested in James Pattersons Masterclass you can by clicking here.

This is a murder mystery novel so there isn't alot I can talk about without giving away too much but the story revolves around a woman who is alluring and beautiful and an interior decorator.  She has everything going for her and so when she leaves her husband to go see a client, and that client turns out to be another man she is involved with, things get pretty interesting.

While we get to read from a few different view points I definitely liked the main character O'Hara and the predicament he ends up in.  He's a very relatable character with good strong morals that are definitely tested.

If you like a good mystery, certainly give this a go.  I found it to be a real page turner.  The chapters are short and engaging and I can't wait to read the next book Second Honeymoon!

Happy reading!

Book received from:  Purchased from Amazon



Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Blogoversary Winner!


Congratulations 
to 

Megan.S

Thank you so much to everyone that entered.  I really appreciate it!  Hope you all have an awesome day.

Megan I'll be emailing across your $100USD Barnes and Nobles email very soon

Monday, February 27, 2017

Book Trailer: A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

*This post may contain Affiliate links
A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire, #1) Synopsis:
I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty's sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she's the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city--and the one she loves?




LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...