Monday, August 14, 2017

Book Trailer: Release by Patrick Ness

*This post may contain affiliate links

ReleaseSynopsis
Inspired by Mrs Dalloway and Judy Blume's Forever, Release is one day in the life of Adam Thorn, 17. It's a big day. Things go wrong. It's intense, and all the while, weirdness approaches...

Adam Thorn is having what will turn out to be the most unsettling, difficult day of his life, with relationships fracturing, a harrowing incident at work, and a showdown between this gay teen and his preacher father that changes everything. It's a day of confrontation, running, sex, love, heartbreak, and maybe, just maybe, hope. He won't come out of it unchanged. And all the while, lurking at the edges of the story, something extraordinary and unsettling is on a collision course.







Patrick Ness on his book Release

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday (162)




I received an email not long ago, and of course as soon as I seen that one of the authors was Rachel Caine, I had to share.  Honor Among Thieves is the first book in The Honors series.  I'm not sure how many books will be in this series but expect to see it out 13th February 2018


Honor Among Thieves (The Honors, #1)Synopsis
Zara Cole has been in and out of New Detroit’s rehab facilities for treatment of her antisocial disorder. There’s no adjusting Zara’s attitude, though. A painful past has made her stronger than most, which is why she chose life in the Zone instead moving with her family to Mars. In her eyes, living inside a dome isn’t much better than a prison cell.

Still, when Zara commits a crime that has her running scared, jail might be exactly where she’s headed. Instead Zara is recruited into the Honors, an elite team of humans selected by the Leviathan–a race of sentient alien ships—to explore the outer reaches of the universe as their passengers.

Zara seizes the chance to flee Earth’s dangers, but when she meets Nadim, the alien ship she’s assigned to along with fellow Honor Beatriz, Zara starts to feel at home for the first time, along with a devotion she’s never experienced before. Yet nothing—not her Honors training or her street smarts—could have prepared her for the dark, dangerous truths that lurk behind the glitter of starlight.

Honor Among Thieves is the first book in a daring new sci-fi series by bestselling authors Rachel Caine and Ann Aguirre.

So what are you waiting on?

Monday, July 17, 2017

Book Trailer: Gap Year in Ghost Town by Michael Pryor

*This post may contain affiliate links

Gap Year in Ghost TownSynopsis
Let's get this straight - ghosts are everywhere. I can see them. You can't. And, see them or not, they're dangerous. This is why my family has hunted ghosts for hundreds of years to protect people like you.

The Marin family are outcasts of the ghost hunting world. They run a two-man operation in inner city Melbourne. Anton has the Ghost-sight, but his father does not.

Rani Cross is supremely skilled in hand-to-hand combat, with enhanced speed and strength thanks to her magical initiation into the Company of the Righteous.

When it comes to ghost-hunting methodology, Anton and Rani don't see eye to eye - Anton likes to 'ease their passage' to the next world, while Rani's all about the slashing.

But Melbourne is under threat; with a massive spike in violent ghost manifestations, Anton and Rani must find a way to work together to keep supernatural forces at bay.

And what with all the blindingly terrifying brushes with death, Anton must decide if he really wants in on the whole ghost hunting biz anyway.




Book Trailer

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Book Trailer: The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby

*This post may contain affiliate links

The Stranger GameSynopsis
The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance.

When Nico Walker's older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah's daily cruelties.

Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.

But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She's thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah's retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical—where she's been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah. . . .

Add to your Goodreads // Buy at Book Depository

Though the trailer is a bit lacking for me, the book synopsis really pulls me in.  I'm interested to see how it ends!





Monday, June 19, 2017

Check it Out: 20th Anniversary Harry Potter Editions


  


*This post may contain affiliate links
I don't know about anyone else, but when I went to the bookstore last weekend I came across these amazing Harry Potter Books.  20th Anniversary Editions! So I had to share:
Aren't they amazing?!!  
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Hufflepuff Edition : 20th Anniversary House Editions - J. K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Ravenclaw Edition : 20th Anniversary House Editions - J. K. Rowling
 Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Gryffindor Edition : 20th Anniversary House Editions - J. K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Slytherin Edition : 20th Anniversary House Editions - J. K. Rowling
 Click on each of them and they will send you across to Book Depository.   

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Ravenclaw Edition : 20th Anniversary House Editions - J. K. Rowling Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Hufflepuff Edition : 20th Anniversary House Editions - J. K. Rowling Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Gryffindor Edition : 20th Anniversary House Editions - J. K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Slytherin Edition : 20th Anniversary House Editions - J. K. Rowling
I've only just bought the latest starry ones and unfortunately don't have room at the moment to own a second set.. YET!  But I'll make room I swear.

That's not all though.  They've also released the Hogwarts Library with new covers too!!

 https://www.bookdepository.com/The-Hogwarts-Library-Box-Set-J-K-Rowling/9781408883112?a_aid=Spellboundbybooks
Image result for quidditch through the ages bookImage result for quidditch through the ages book newImage result for fantastic beasts and where to find them book
   


So as you can tell, I'm super excited to see these new covers out. Fingers crossed you'll have room on your shelves for a beautiful set :)

Monday, June 12, 2017

Upcoming Events: Lifeline Bookfest Brisbane 2017

Lifeline Bookfest events



When: 24th June-2nd July
Where: Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre
Times
Saturday 24th June: opening at 7.30am to 6.00pm
Other weekend days: 8.30am-6.00pm
Mon - Thurs: 9:00am - 5:00pm
Friday late night shopping: 9:00am to 9:00pm 

This is well worth the time to stop in and see.  I've been a few times before and if you are a booklover like I am, you will find yourself in heaven.
Bear in mind your poor bookshelves may not be able to handle the strain of bargains you will pick up here.

All Funds raised will support Lifeline and UnitingCare Community program

Check out the link here: Lifeline Bookfest


I hope to make it here.  I might see some of you there :)

Happy Reading!

Monday, June 5, 2017

Book Trailer: Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine

*This post may contain Affiliate links
 
Stillhouse LakeSynopsis:
 Gina Royal is the definition of average—a shy Midwestern housewife with a happy marriage and two adorable children. But when a car accident reveals her husband’s secret life as a serial killer, she must remake herself as Gwen Proctor—the ultimate warrior mom.

With her ex now in prison, Gwen has finally found refuge in a new home on remote Stillhouse Lake. Though still the target of stalkers and Internet trolls who think she had something to do with her husband’s crimes, Gwen dares to think her kids can finally grow up in peace.

But just when she’s starting to feel at ease in her new identity, a body turns up in the lake—and threatening letters start arriving from an all-too-familiar address. Gwen Proctor must keep friends close and enemies at bay to avoid being exposed—or watch her kids fall victim to a killer who takes pleasure in tormenting her. One thing is certain: she’s learned how to fight evil. And she’ll never stop.

 
I'm really looking forward to this one.  Rachel Caine has to be one of my all time favourites!!
You can expect this out on the 1st July 2017
 
See the book Trailer:
 

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...